Mediaphyter – A Communications Cocktail


‘Mad Men’ characters on Twitter take us right into the show
Aug 20 08, 7:18 am
Filed under: Social Media | Tags: , , , ,

I normally balk at brands or fakesters who hit me with unsolicited follows on Twitter. However this week I’ve noticed an endearing trend. No, not the FaceYourManga-gone-wild avatar antics, but it seems that a growing list of characters from my favorite TV show — AMC‘s “Mad Men” — have signed up for Twitter.

It started with Don Draper (Jon Hamm), whose bio link to Sterling Cooper Advertising takes you straight to the TV show’s official landing page. Then I noticed Joan Holloway (Christina Hendricks) (whose hourglass shape, as an aside, to me epitomizes what a real woman should look like). Then Peggy Olson (Elizabeth Moss), followed by Bertram Cooper (Robert Morse) and now Bobbie Barrett (Melinda McGraw).

Now, I have no idea if these character Twitter feeds are AMC-sanctioned or not (I DMed Mr. Draper but I did not hear back) but it doesn’t matter. All of them are tweeting completely in character. There is no break. There are no sneak-ins of the true personality of the user(s). I actually feel like I am interacting with the characters on the show and, as silly as this may seem, I almost feel like I am there with them at Sterling Cooper when I am reading their tweets. Never mind the fact, of course, that I don’t think Don Draper would ever be bothered with Twitter even if they had it in the 1960s…

If you aren’t familiar with “Mad Men” it is an amazing piece of work, from the same guy who masterminded “The Sopranos.” It’s AMC’s first original series and I was hooked from episode one of season one. The setting is a 1960s Manhattan advertising agency and it explores the business, cultural and societal issues in that era in a way I’ve never seen before. All of the characters have equally unlikeable and likeable qualities. This makes them appear real; and it also hooks you into every character because you’re not rooting for one. My grandfather, who grew up and spent most of his working life in Manhattan, has marveled at how on the mark Mad Men is in terms of the style, the intricacies of the settings and characters, and so on. And for me, one who believes she was born to the wrong generation and wishes she was Joan Holloway in 1960, am fascinated by it.

Michael Gladis as Paul Kinsey

If you’re a fan of the show I highly recommend engaging with these characters on Twitter. There’s no spam, no spoilers, no blatant promotion. Just character interaction that brings you into the show. If this was sanctioned by AMC it is simply brilliant marketing. If it’s not, I think the channel should promote the feeds anyway. I’ll absolutely keep following. I hope the characters keep following me and that even more join. I think even more insight into the screwy mind of Betty Draper (January Jones) would be fascinating.

But I have one important gripe. I can’t find Paul Kinsey (Michael Gladis). If you’re out there, Paul, please follow me. I have a mad TV crush on you.

[Update 8/19/08 7:30 a.m. Paul Kinsey is now on Twitter.]

[Update 8/19/08 8:12 a.m. I apparently missed Pete Campbell (Vincent Kartheiser).]

[Update 8/25/08 11:58 p.m. Twitter received a DMCA takedown notice to remove the “Mad Men” characters as they are not sanctioned. Regardless of whether or not they were sanctioned, this is a foolish move on AMC’s part. I turned at least five people onto the show just talking about the characters. Was there really harm being done?]


14 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Awesome! I love the show and I love in character ad campaigns like this.

Comment by M Borghese

You forgot @Pete_Campbell! Hopefully he will tweet more than he has so far!

Comment by @girlgamy

Thanks @girlgamy. I didn’t know he was on there! I added him to the blog and gave a heads up on Twitter.

Comment by Jennifer Leggio

I’m surprised at how enjoyable it is to chat with the “characters” on Twitter. Curious to see if/how AMC will respond.

Comment by Ryan

[…] ‘Mad Men’ characters on Twitter take us right into the show « Mediaphyter "…it seems that a growing list of characters from my favorite TV show — AMC’s “Mad Men” — have signed up for Twitter." (tags: madmen twitter) […]

Pingback by links for 2008-08-20 | mad dog in the fog

Your post initially threw me for a loop, because I was watching Mad Men while I browsed my Google Reader post titles. It’s always jarring to feel like someone has a semi-direct line to your brain.

You’re right – if this is a marketing campaign, it’s a great idea. Can you tell if the people are coordinating or if anyone who is interested is just joining in?

Comment by Leanne Heller

I just found @sal_romano the art director!

Comment by Jeff

Did you see that their accounts just got suspended? Apparently wasn’t sanctioned by the show. :(

Comment by Tiffany Monhollon

[…] updates from Personal PR. Thanks for stopping by!Recently, a Twitter pal of mine noticed that the characters of AMC’s hit show Mad Men were Twittering. I had recently discovered the show and was just getting acquainted with the characters on DVD and […]

Pingback by It’s Personal. It’s Business. Mad Men, Twitter, and Lessons for Branding Online at Personal PR

[…] Instead. 08.27.08 Print This | Email This Recently, a Twitter pal of mine noticed that the characters of AMC’s hit show Mad Men were Twittering. I had recently discovered the show and was just getting acquainted with the characters on DVD and […]

Pingback by There’s A New Rule In Branding: Don’t Manage. Engage Instead. : Brazen Careerist - A Career Center for Generation Y

[…] the popular show using Twitter to communicate with the shows fans. One of the comments I made in an earlier blog post: Now, I have no idea if these character Twitter feeds are AMC-sanctioned or not (I DMed Mr. Draper […]

Pingback by Feeds mobile edition

I first followed @betty_draper, who it turns out is one of two Betty Draper’s, the other being @bettydraper.

don

Comment by Don LaVange

It has everything you need, and you think of all of that. Friend, believe me!

http://www.dolcegabbana-wholesale.com

Comment by lero chaohuang

[…] fenomeno non è nuovo: i primi personaggi approdati su Twitter risalgono al 2008, anno in cui andava in onda la seconda stagione della […]

Pingback by I personaggi di Mad Men su Twitter




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

